AI CRM: what it is and how to choose one

An AI CRM is a CRM where AI does work people used to do by hand: logging calls and emails, updating deals and answering questions about your pipeline. AI CRMs differ in where that AI lives: inside the CRM’s own app, in your own AI assistant through MCP, or in an AI-native CRM built around the assistant from the start.

Last updated
In practice

What does an AI CRM look like in practice?

One line to the assistant about a call. The CRM fills in the company, the contact, the deal, the call and the follow-up, and each change waits for a person’s approval before it is saved.

Updated from a chat with your assistant. Open the CRM any time to see it.
What it does

What does an AI CRM do?

  • Captures activityPulls in emails, calendar events and call transcripts and puts them on the right company and person, so nobody types up what happened.
  • Updates recordsTurns what was said into deal stages, next steps and contact details. The question is whether it saves changes straight away or asks you first.
  • Prepares and follows upSummarizes an account before a call and drafts the follow-up afterwards.
  • Answers questions“Which deals haven’t moved in 30 days?” in plain language, instead of building a report.

Be careful with AI scores and risk labels you can’t trace back to data. A good AI CRM shows what each suggestion is based on: the email, the meeting or the call.

Three kinds

What kinds of AI CRM are there?

  1. AI features added to a CRM

    An assistant or agents built into a CRM you already use. You still work in the CRM’s app, and some vendors meter AI use with credits: HubSpot’s plans include a monthly allowance of HubSpot Credits, and Attio’s include seat and workspace credits.

    Where you work
    Inside the CRM’s own web app
    Examples
    HubSpot’s Breeze AI, Salesforce’s Agentforce, Ask Attio
  2. A CRM you connect to your assistant

    The CRM runs an MCP server, so Claude or ChatGPT can search and update it. It adds assistant access to a product built around its own web app; what the assistant may change, and whether it asks first, varies.

    Where you work
    In Claude or ChatGPT, through MCP
    Examples
    HubSpot, Attio, Pipedrive (beta), Salesforce (Enterprise Edition and above)
  3. An AI-native CRM

    Built for the assistant to do the admin: activity flows in from email, calendar and calls, the assistant proposes updates, and people approve them.

    Where you work
    In your assistant first, with a web app alongside
    Examples
    Capable

More on the second and third kinds: What is an MCP CRM? →

AI-native

What is an AI-native CRM?

An AI-native CRM is designed for AI to do the CRM work, rather than for people typing into forms with AI added later. It is sometimes called an AI-first CRM.

In practice that means the record fills itself in from email, calendar and calls; your assistant can do every core job, not only answer questions; and because the AI writes to the record, every change it proposes is reviewable and kept in a history.

  • Data arrives without typingEmails, meetings and calls land on the right company and person on their own.
  • The assistant can do the whole jobNot just summaries and answers: creating records, updating deals, scheduling, reporting.
  • Every AI change is reviewableChanges arrive as proposals you can approve, and the history shows what changed and who changed it.
Side by side

Which AI CRMs work with Claude and ChatGPT?

The same rows as our full comparison, checked October 2026 against each company’s own product, help and pricing pages. “Not stated” means we found no public statement either way; a blank cell means we haven’t verified it on the vendor’s own site yet.
CRMWorks from ClaudeWorks from ChatGPTAssistant can write, not just readApproval step before changes are savedPricing model
CapableYesYesYesYesField by field$29 a month per workspace plus $0.49 per active account. Unlimited seats. Prospects are free.
HubSpotYesYesYesNot statedPer seat, per month
AttioYesYesYesYesPer action, in the assistantPer user, per month
PipedriveYesIn betaYesIn betaYesNot statedPer seat, per month
SalesforceYesOn Enterprise Edition and aboveYesOn Enterprise Edition and aboveYesNot statedPer user, per month
CloseYesYesYes
ClarifyYesYesYesUnlimited users; AI features use credits
BreakcoldYesYes
folkYesYesIn developer modeYesPer user, per month
Day AIYesYes

Capable

Works from Claude
Yes
Works from ChatGPT
Yes
Assistant can write, not just read
Yes
Approval step before changes are saved
YesField by field
Pricing model
$29 a month per workspace plus $0.49 per active account. Unlimited seats. Prospects are free.

HubSpot

Works from Claude
Yes
Works from ChatGPT
Yes
Assistant can write, not just read
Yes
Approval step before changes are saved
Not stated
Pricing model
Per seat, per month

Attio

Works from Claude
Yes
Works from ChatGPT
Yes
Assistant can write, not just read
Yes
Approval step before changes are saved
YesPer action, in the assistant
Pricing model
Per user, per month

Pipedrive

Works from Claude
YesIn beta
Works from ChatGPT
YesIn beta
Assistant can write, not just read
Yes
Approval step before changes are saved
Not stated
Pricing model
Per seat, per month

Salesforce

Works from Claude
YesOn Enterprise Edition and above
Works from ChatGPT
YesOn Enterprise Edition and above
Assistant can write, not just read
Yes
Approval step before changes are saved
Not stated
Pricing model
Per user, per month

Close

Works from Claude
Yes
Works from ChatGPT
Yes
Assistant can write, not just read
Yes
Approval step before changes are saved
Pricing model

Clarify

Works from Claude
Yes
Works from ChatGPT
Yes
Assistant can write, not just read
Yes
Approval step before changes are saved
Pricing model
Unlimited users; AI features use credits

Breakcold

Works from Claude
Yes
Works from ChatGPT
Yes
Assistant can write, not just read
Approval step before changes are saved
Pricing model

folk

Works from Claude
Yes
Works from ChatGPT
YesIn developer mode
Assistant can write, not just read
Yes
Approval step before changes are saved
Pricing model
Per user, per month

Day AI

Works from Claude
Yes
Works from ChatGPT
Assistant can write, not just read
Yes
Approval step before changes are saved
Pricing model

The same rows as our full comparison, checked October 2026 against each company’s own product, help and pricing pages. “Not stated” means we found no public statement either way; a blank cell means we haven’t verified it on the vendor’s own site yet. See the full comparison of CRMs for Claude and ChatGPT →

Before you pick

How do you choose an AI CRM?

  • Where does your team want to work?If they already live in Claude or ChatGPT, pick a CRM that works fully from there. If they live in the CRM’s app, built-in AI features may be enough.
  • Can the AI write, and does it ask first?Read-only AI answers questions. If you want it to log calls and update deals, check whether changes are saved straight away, confirmed per action, or reviewed field by field.
  • Can you see every change?Look for a history of every change, with who made it, person or AI.
  • Where does the data come from?An AI CRM is only as good as what it captures. Check which email, calendar and meeting tools it connects to.
  • How is AI use priced?Some CRMs charge per seat and meter AI with credits on top. Work out what your whole team would pay, including the people who only need to look things up.
  • Is it tied to one assistant?A CRM that works through MCP lets you use Claude or ChatGPT, or both, and switch later without moving your data.

On pricing: what a CRM without per-seat pricing costs a small team →

Capable

What makes Capable different from other AI CRMs?

Capable is an AI-native CRM. One MCP connection with 66 tools, each built around a whole job, is the main way to use it; the web app is there for reading and quick fixes. It costs $29 a month per workspace plus $0.49 per active account, with unlimited seats.

  • Every job, from the chatFind and update records, log meetings, schedule calls, run reports, even add fields and pipelines. Each core job works through Capable’s MCP connector in plain conversation, not only in the web app.
  • You approve what changesWhen your assistant infers an update from an email or a call, it arrives as a proposal with its reasoning. You approve it field by field, and only then is it saved.
  • A full history of every changeEvery approved change is recorded once, whether a person or an assistant made it. You can always see what changed, when and by whom.
  • Not tied to one assistantThe same workspace works from Claude and from ChatGPT through one MCP connection. Change assistants, or use both, and your CRM and its history stay where they are.
  • A record other agents can run onAgents can read what changed since they last looked, or get a webhook when it does, so new tools can work from the same record.
Popular AI CRMs
Questions

AI CRMs: questions.

Still have a question? Talk to us →

What is the best AI CRM?

It depends on where your team works and what you want the AI to do. If you want your assistant to do the CRM updates, with your approval and without per-seat pricing, Capable is built for that. If you also need marketing tools in the same product, look at HubSpot; if your team mostly works in the CRM’s own app, look at Attio.

What is an AI-native CRM?

A CRM designed for AI to do the CRM work, rather than one built for typing with AI features added later. The record fills itself in from email, calendar and calls, the assistant can do every core job, and its changes are reviewed before they are saved. Capable is an AI-native CRM.

Is an AI CRM the same as an MCP CRM?

No. An MCP CRM is one kind of AI CRM: one that AI assistants like Claude and ChatGPT can connect to through the Model Context Protocol. Other AI CRMs keep their AI inside their own app.

Can an AI CRM update my records automatically?

Many can. Some save changes straight away, some ask before each action. In Capable, nothing the assistant infers is saved until you approve it, field by field, and every change is kept in the audit history.

Do AI CRMs charge extra for AI?

Some do, with credits or AI add-ons on top of per-seat prices. Capable doesn’t charge per AI action: your assistant runs on your own Claude or ChatGPT plan, and Capable bills $29 a month per workspace plus $0.49 per active account. Call recording hours are the one metered part.

Do I need Claude or ChatGPT to use Capable?

No. Capable works in its own web app. To run it from your assistant, you need a Claude or ChatGPT plan that supports connectors. You can try it for 14 days without a card.

The AI CRM your assistant runs.

Capable keeps the record. You approve what changes.

No card needed. Or talk to us first.