Claude ChatGPTModel Context Protocol

What is an MCP CRM?

An MCP CRM is a CRM that AI assistants like Claude and ChatGPT can connect to through the Model Context Protocol (MCP), so the assistant can search, create and update records for you. Some CRMs only let the assistant read; others let it write, with or without your approval for each change.

An MCP CRM is one kind of AI CRM. What an AI CRM is, and the three kinds →

Last updated
How it works

How does MCP connect a CRM to Claude or ChatGPT?

The CRM runs an MCP server that lists the actions an assistant may take, such as “find company”, “update deal stage” or “log a call”. You add that server as a connector in Claude or ChatGPT and sign in.

The assistant then picks the right action for what you ask, and the CRM checks your permissions before it does anything. You don’t install software or write code.

In practice

What can an assistant do in an MCP CRM?

  • Look up an account before a call and summarize its historyPrep me for my call with Northwind at 2pm.
  • Log a meeting and update the deal from the transcriptLog today’s call with Northwind and update the deal.
  • Create follow-up tasks and draft the emailDraft the follow-up and remind me on Friday if they haven’t replied.
  • Answer pipeline questionsWhich deals haven’t moved in 30 days?

What an assistant can actually do depends on the CRM: some connectors only read, and some save changes without asking. The table below shows which is which.

Side by side

Which CRMs have an MCP server?

The same rows as our full comparison, checked October 2026 against each company’s own product, help and pricing pages. “Not stated” means we found no public statement either way; a blank cell means we haven’t verified it on the vendor’s own site yet.
CRMWorks from ClaudeWorks from ChatGPTAssistant can write, not just readApproval step before changes are savedPricing model
CapableYesYesYesYesField by field$29 a month per workspace plus $0.49 per active account. Unlimited seats. Prospects are free.
HubSpotYesYesYesNot statedPer seat, per month
AttioYesYesYesYesPer action, in the assistantPer user, per month
PipedriveYesIn betaYesIn betaYesNot statedPer seat, per month
SalesforceYesOn Enterprise Edition and aboveYesOn Enterprise Edition and aboveYesNot statedPer user, per month
CloseYesYesYes
ClarifyYesYesYesUnlimited users; AI features use credits
BreakcoldYesYes
folkYesYesIn developer modeYesPer user, per month
Day AIYesYes

Capable

Works from Claude
Yes
Works from ChatGPT
Yes
Assistant can write, not just read
Yes
Approval step before changes are saved
YesField by field
Pricing model
$29 a month per workspace plus $0.49 per active account. Unlimited seats. Prospects are free.

HubSpot

Works from Claude
Yes
Works from ChatGPT
Yes
Assistant can write, not just read
Yes
Approval step before changes are saved
Not stated
Pricing model
Per seat, per month

Attio

Works from Claude
Yes
Works from ChatGPT
Yes
Assistant can write, not just read
Yes
Approval step before changes are saved
YesPer action, in the assistant
Pricing model
Per user, per month

Pipedrive

Works from Claude
YesIn beta
Works from ChatGPT
YesIn beta
Assistant can write, not just read
Yes
Approval step before changes are saved
Not stated
Pricing model
Per seat, per month

Salesforce

Works from Claude
YesOn Enterprise Edition and above
Works from ChatGPT
YesOn Enterprise Edition and above
Assistant can write, not just read
Yes
Approval step before changes are saved
Not stated
Pricing model
Per user, per month

Close

Works from Claude
Yes
Works from ChatGPT
Yes
Assistant can write, not just read
Yes
Approval step before changes are saved
Pricing model

Clarify

Works from Claude
Yes
Works from ChatGPT
Yes
Assistant can write, not just read
Yes
Approval step before changes are saved
Pricing model
Unlimited users; AI features use credits

Breakcold

Works from Claude
Yes
Works from ChatGPT
Yes
Assistant can write, not just read
Approval step before changes are saved
Pricing model

folk

Works from Claude
Yes
Works from ChatGPT
YesIn developer mode
Assistant can write, not just read
Yes
Approval step before changes are saved
Pricing model
Per user, per month

Day AI

Works from Claude
Yes
Works from ChatGPT
Assistant can write, not just read
Yes
Approval step before changes are saved
Pricing model

The same rows as our full comparison, checked October 2026 against each company’s own product, help and pricing pages. “Not stated” means we found no public statement either way; a blank cell means we haven’t verified it on the vendor’s own site yet. See the full comparison of CRMs for Claude and ChatGPT →

Connector or native

What is the difference between an MCP CRM and an AI-native CRM?

A CRM with an MCP connector adds assistant access to a product built for typing into forms. An AI-native CRM is built for the assistant to do the admin: data comes in from email, calendar and calls, the assistant proposes updates, and people review them.

Capable is built that way. One MCP connection with 66 tools, each built around a whole job, is the main way to use it; the web app is there for reading and quick fixes.

Both are kinds of AI CRM. What an AI CRM is, and how to choose one →

  • Every job, from the chatFind and update records, log meetings, schedule calls, run reports, even add fields and pipelines. Each core job works through Capable’s MCP connector in plain conversation, not only in the web app.
  • You approve what changesWhen your assistant infers an update from an email or a call, it arrives as a proposal with its reasoning. You approve it field by field, and only then is it saved.
  • A full history of every changeEvery approved change is recorded once, whether a person or an assistant made it. You can always see what changed, when and by whom.
  • Not tied to one assistantThe same workspace works from Claude and from ChatGPT through one MCP connection. Change assistants, or use both, and your CRM and its history stay where they are.
  • A record other agents can run onAgents can read what changed since they last looked, or get a webhook when it does, so new tools can work from the same record.
Before you connect

What should you check before connecting a CRM to an assistant?

  • Read or writeCan the assistant only read, or also create and update records?
  • ApprovalDo changes need your approval, and at what level: per action, per change, or field by field?
  • Audit logIs every change the assistant makes recorded, with who made it and when?
  • PlanWhich CRM plan includes MCP access, and which Claude or ChatGPT plans can add connectors?
  • Official or third-partyIs the MCP server maintained by the CRM itself, or by someone else working through its API?
  • PermissionsDoes the assistant act with your user’s permissions, and nothing more?
Questions

MCP CRMs: questions.

Still have a question? Talk to us →

What does MCP stand for?

Model Context Protocol, an open standard Anthropic introduced in 2024 for connecting AI assistants to tools and data. Claude and ChatGPT both support it.

Do I need to code to use an MCP CRM?

No. You add the connector in Claude or ChatGPT settings and sign in.

Is it safe to let an AI update my CRM?

It depends on the controls: look for per-change approval, role permissions and an audit log. In Capable, nothing your assistant infers is saved until you approve it field by field, and every change is kept in the audit history.

Which is the best MCP CRM for a small team?

It depends on what you want the assistant to do. If you want it to do your CRM updates, with your approval and without per-seat pricing, Capable is built for that. If you also need marketing tools, look at HubSpot; if your team mostly works in the CRM’s own app, look at Attio. Our full comparison of CRMs for Claude and ChatGPT covers ten side by side.

Run your CRM from Claude or ChatGPT.

Capable keeps the record. You approve what changes.

No card needed. Or talk to us first.